Upper Palatinate

The Upper Palatinate, situated in the southeast of the Federal Republic of Germany, has an elevation ranging from about 320 m along the Danube near Pfatter to approximately 1440 m on the Grosser Arber Mountain in the Bavarian Forest. It is one of seven districts in the state of Bavaria, and is divided into seven rural districts with a total of 223 communities and three urban districts (Regensburg in the south, Amberg in the west, and Weiden in der Oberpfalz in the north).

Federal Republik of Germany and its sixteen states

map of Germany and Bavaria